Rio 2016 Tournament Details

  • Rugby will be played over six days, from August 6th through 11th, 2016
  • The world’s top women will be the first rugby players to compete for an Olympic Games medal for 92 years, with 12 teams competing over three days (August 6-8) before the men’s teams take their turn (August 9-11)
  • Two group stage matches will take place on the first day of competition, followed by the final group stage match and first round of elimination play on day two. The medal round will then take place on the third day.
  • Matches will be held at Deodoro Sports Complex (15,000 seat capacity)
  • View the full Rio 2016 daily competition schedule here.


Individual match tickets are available for purchase while supplies last – CLICK HERE to purchase yours!

How to Watch

The 2016 Rio Olympic Games will be the eighth consecutive summer Games to be broadcast on NBC and the NBC Universal family of networks, in addition to being streamed live on and NBC Sports Live Extra.

TV Listings
NBC television coverage will begin with the Opening Ceremony on Friday, Aug. 5, with primetime coverage on NBC running from Aug. 5-21. Bob Costas returns to host primetime coverage on NBC, with Ryan Seacrest hosting NBC’s late-night coverage. A wide array of NBC Universal networks will host extensive Olympic coverage throughout the Games. Full details and channel listings will be released and available on closer to the start of the Olympics.

All 34 sports in the 2016 Summer Olympics will be stremed LIVE through

How Did We Qualify

There are 1 of 3 events from which the Eagles could have qualified for the Olympics: the 2014/15 World Rugby Sevens Series, the 2015 World Rugby Regional Association Sevens Championship (North America: NACRA 7s), or the Final Olympic Qualification Tournament.

I. 2014/15 World Rugby Sevens Series

The teams ranked 1 to 4 in the final rankings of the 2014/15 World Rugby Sevens World Series automatically qualified for a spot alongside Brazil (host nation) at the 2016 Summer Games. The Men’s Eagles barely missed qualification, ending the season ranked 6th. Fiji (1), South Africa (2), New Zeland (3) and England (4) all earned automatic qualification.

II. 2015 World Rugby Regional Association Sevens Championships

The winner of each of the 2015 World Rugby Regional Association Sevens Championships qualified for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The qualifying tournaments were:

  • Africa (CAR) – 1 team
  • Asia (ARFU) – 1 team
  • Europe (FIRA-AER) – 1 team
  • North America and the Caribbean (NACRA) – 1 team
  • Oceania (FORU) – 1 team
  • South America (CONSUR) – 1 team

The United States Men’s Eagles earned Olympic qualification by defeating Canada 21-5 in the NACRA 7sfinal.

[su_youtube url=”″]

III. The Final Olympic Qualification Tournament

Teams who have not yet qualified will play in the final qualification tournament (16 teams) tournament with the following quota of the best ranked teams from each World Rugby Region invited to participate, based on rankings from the 2015 Regional Tournaments:

  • Africa (CAR) – 3 teams
  • Asia (ARFU) – 3 teams
  • Europe (FIRA-AER) – 4 teams
  • North America and the Caribbean (NACRA) – 2 teams
  • Oceania (FORU) – 2 teams
  • South America (CONSUR) – 2 teams