Fall College Championships Returning to South Carolina

LAFAYETTE, CO – USA Rugby announced today locations for the Fall College Playoffs, with competition culminating on campus at Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina. For students and fans not able to attend, full coverage will be available via The Rugby Channel.

The advent of fall may have temperatures dropping on campuses across the country, but college rugby is heating up. Some stalwarts have faced challenges early and everything seems to point towards another thrilling race to the finish.

The competition will reach its boiling point in November when Women’s Division I and II advance to playoff competition along with Men’s Division I-AA and Division II. The national playoff round will be held on November 18th and 19th, with players receiving a holiday bye before advancing to the Championship at Furman University on December 2nd and 3rd.

A return to Furman promises a dedicated rugby pitch in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, an idyllic campus, the traditional charm of downtown Greenville, and the hospitality of a welcoming community. “The Men’s DII National Championship and the Women’s DI and DII Fall Championships promise to be more competitive than ever,” proclaimed Collegiate Director Rich Cortez. “With the addition of The Rugby Channel webcast, rugby fans across the country can follow the fortunes of their favorite teams. We are grateful to Furman University and John Roberts who continue to be extraordinary hosts for our fans and teams.”

Under a combined format, four pools each consisting of four Men’s and Women’s Division II teams will advance to playoff events at the United States Naval Academy, Kutztown University, Chicago Blaze, and Brimelow Fields of the Cincinnati Wolfhounds. Women’s Division I teams will join Division II at the Naval Academy and Chicago Blaze, with contenders for Men’s DIAA advancing to either Cincinnati or the campus of Bowling Green State University.