Identification Camp squad announced for AIG MCAAs

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – The AIG Men’s Collegiate All-Americans coaching staff has called on 57 athletes to attend the Identification Camp at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center Jan. 14-16.

The first assembly of the under-23 national team in 2017 follows an aggressive outreach to collegiate and club coaches and players throughout the final quarter of 2016, resulting in 33 colleges represented in the Camp squad list. The robust input from the community will also allow Head Coach Gavin Hickie and staff to communicate with student-athletes unavailable for the Identification Camp for the purposes of future national team development.

Based on nominations, references from coaches, video submissions, and scouting reports and recommendations from the Eagle Eye Scouting Network, the Identification Camp list features several athletes who have previously stood out on the collegiate stage but have not represented a U.S. age-grade team.

“We would like to thank all coaches throughout the country who gave their time to nominate, recommend, and discuss players,” Hickie said. “We received more than 300 nominations, which meant we had some tough calls to make, but this is a good problem to have. We recognize the challenge of identifying the country’s top talent through the collegiate game, but we continue to cast the net wide and are encouraged to see that there are so many ambitious and talented student-athletes playing the game.”

Several schools are represented by multiple student-athletes, including Arizona State University, Bethel College, Indiana University, and D1A National Champion Life University – with 2016 D1A MVP Harley Davidson and 2016 U20 Trophy/AIG Men’s Junior All-American Duncan Van Schalkwyk (pictured) among them. Some athletes have also played senior club rugby during the collegiate offseason, and have raised their level of play in order to earn national team selection.

Following four training sessions on the weekend, the MCAA coaching staff will divide the 57-strong Camp roster into three match-day squads for scrimmages against the MJAAs, who are holding a Developmental Camp at the EATC this weekend, as well. The competition will give both age-grade teams meaningful match time to institute what the players have learned in Camp in addition to the benefits that come with players facing unfamiliar opponents.

“The All-American staff is very excited to work with this group of collegiate rugby players,” Hickie said. “A domestic camp is a vital piece of our season in addition to our tour to Australia. We are getting to work – first-hand – with 57 more student-athletes this year than we did a year ago. Representing 33 different colleges, this will provide us with an accurate picture of where our domestic college skill levels currently stand.”

Those not selected or unavailable for the Identification Camp will still be in contention for future MCAA selection, and are encouraged to gather film throughout their winter and spring competitions. Staff will continue to accept nominations for age-grade selection, and will monitor players leading up to this year’s AIG Men’s Collegiate All-Americans Tour to Queensland sponsored by Welldog. Nominations can be submitted via the All-American page on

AIG Men’s Collegiate All-Americans | Identification Camp

Juan Aguirre Romero – Lindenwood University-Belleville

Christian Artuso – St. Bonaventure University

Dominique Bailey – Davenport University

Maximillian Berry – University of Wyoming

Roland Blackiston – California State University, Long Beach

Andrew Boatright – Davenport University

Trace Bolstad – Duluth Rugby

Matthew Brennan – Arizona State University

Jariel Brooks – Bethel College

Dylan Brown – United States Air Force Academy

Thomas Cheslek – Davenport University

Mitchell Cochell – United States Air Force Academy

Struan Coleman – Dartmouth College

Connor Cudeback – California Polytechnic State University

Harley Davidson – Life University

Oliver Engelhart – Dartmouth College

Nick Feakes – Lindenwood University

Jake Feury – Middlebury College

Zack Forro – Notre Dame College

Brady Gent – Davenport University

Toma Ghattas – Lindenwood University

Michael Gieselman – Michigan State University

Jake Glass – Kutztown University

Colton Grantham – University of Oklahoma

Patrick Hafenbridle – Bethel College

Terrence Hellander – University of Wyoming

Jacob Hidalgo – Indiana University

William Hock – Boston College

Ryan Iskowitz – University of Mary Washington

Matthew Jones – American International College

Thomas Kacor – Chicago Lions

Maciu Koroi – Life University

Jacob Lachina – United States Military Academy

Gavin Lally – Morris Rugby Football Club

Jeremy Lenaerts – Central Washington University

Isaiah Lopez – New England College

Connor Marsh – Indiana University

Hugh McAllister – Wheeling Jesuit University

Patrick McMahon – University of Notre Dame

Selby Niumataiwalu – Pennsylvania State University

Efe Ovie – Bethel College

Dominic Rufran – University of Wyoming

Michael Ruther – University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Michael Scarcella – Iona College

Tyler Sousley – Indiana University

Nathaniel Sylvia – California Polytechnic State University

Theodoros Terezis – Indiana University

Marcus Tupuola – Notre Dame College

Duncan Van Schalkwyk – Life University

Culver Van Vleck – Tulane University

Pio Vatuvei – University of Louisville

Khristoffer Walser – Arkansas State University

Alexander Walsh – Arizona State University

Larome White – University of Louisville

James Wolfer – Saint Joseph’s University

Alexander Wormer – California Polytechnic State University

Zachary Young – Arkansas State University

AIG Men’s Collegiate All-Americans | Coaching Staff

Gavin Hickie – Head Coach

Justin Hickey – Manager

Greg McWilliams – Assistant Coach

James Willocks – Assistant Coach

Tom Argy – Video Analyst

Ben Schuler – Team Trainer