Women's Premier League announces 2016 competition schedule

LAFAYETTE, Colo. – The schedule for the 2016 Women’s Premier League (WPL) has been finalized, with the two-time defending Champion Glendale Raptors apart of a trio of matches to kick off the season Saturday, Sept. 10.

The same eight sides that have made up the elite competition since the 2014 season remain intact for the 2016 campaign, as the league has not relegated or promoted a team since Oregon Sports Union’s promotion following its Division I National Championship in the spring of 2014.

“Entering its eighth season, the Women’s Premier League remains the gold standard for competition in the United States,” USA Rugby Club Director Erik Geib said. “Not only is the league a home for past, present, and future Eagles, but it’s a true showcase of the women’s game that the entire rugby community should be embracing. It’s vitally important that we all make an effort to show our support at WPL home matches this fall.”

The six-game regular season schedule will be played over nine weeks, with Berkeley All Blues, Oregon Rugby Sports Union, Raptors, and San Diego Surfers – each of which have qualified for the Aug. 13-14 USA Rugby Club 7s National Championships – battling out of the Blue Conference, while Atlanta Harlequins, DC Furies, New York Rugby, and Twin Cities Amazons, again, playing out of the Red Conference.

Following the completion of the regular season, the WPL Championships will be held Nov. 11-13 at Life University in Marietta, Ga. All eight teams will play two matches apiece during the Championship weekend. The league’s top four squads will factor into a Nov. 11 Semifinal, with the winners meeting for a Championship fixture Nov. 13. Meanwhile, the bottom half of the competition will duke it out over the same dates in an attempt to better position themselves in the final standings, and jumpstart next year’s season.

2016 Women’s Premier League Schedule

Date Conference Away Home
Week 1 Sept. 10 BLUE San Diego Glendale
Sept. 10 BLUE Berkeley ORSU
Sept. 10 RED New York DC Furies
Sept. 10 RED Atlanta Twin Cities
Week 2 Sept. 17 BLUE San Diego Berkeley
Sept. 18 BLUE Glendale ORSU
Sept. 18 RED Atlanta New York
Sept. 18 RED DC Furies Twin Cities
Week 3 Sept. 24 BLUE Glendale Berkeley
Sept. 24 BLUE ORSU San Diego
Sept. 24 RED DC Furies Atlanta
Sept. 25 RED New York Twin Cities
Week 4 Oct. 8 BLUE ORSU Glendale
Oct. 8 BLUE Berkeley San Diego
Oct. 9 RED New York Atlanta
Oct. 9 RED Twin Cities DC Furies
Week 5 Oct. 15 BLUE Berkeley Glendale
Oct. 16 RED Atlanta DC Furies
Oct. 16 RED Twin Cities New York
Oct. 22 BLUE San Diego ORSU
Week 6 Oct. 29 BLUE ORSU Berkeley
Oct. 29 BLUE Glendale San Diego
Oct. 30 RED Twin Cities Atlanta
Oct. 30 RED DC Furies New York
Championship Nov. 11-13 Atlanta